Advice · Lifestyle

Sometimes Things Don’t Go Right

I always like to think that things will go right. And for the most part, I feel like they do. But sometimes the world doesn’t work out the way you’ve planned.

IMG_2591

Today I woke up at 6am, about 2.5 hours earlier than I normally do, because I had someone ask me to babysit through Care.com. When I arrived at their house at 7, I saw another girl standing at the door about to go in. She turned and looked at my car, seeming confused. I pretty much had the same look on my face, staring at her. Someone answered the door to the house and she went in. As I gathered up my bags from the car and headed up the walkway, still totally not sure what was going on, the father came out of the house to meet me. He promptly asked if I had gotten his message on Care.com.

Of course, I had no idea what he was talking about. If  I had gotten “the message” he was talking about, I would not be at his house at 7am. Frustrated, I pulled up the Care app and showed him my inbox, with our previous conversation and no new messages from him. He apologized endlessly and I left angrily, thinking that if people could just be a little more organized, take their time and double check things, this wouldn’t have happened. He claimed he messaged me saying he did not actually need me to sit for his kids, but clearly he made a mistake.

As I was driving home, I eventually saw how quick I had been to put all of the blame on him. I know it’s very possible that the website itself might be having some issues. Or perhaps he did make a mistake and forget to hit the send button after typing out his message, but it’s just that: a mistake. It was a good reminder to me not to be so quick to judge someone based on their actions, especially someone I don’t know very well.

IMG_2592

I like to think that everything happens for a reason, and maybe it did. His cancelling on me gave me a head start to a day that I’m hoping will be pretty productive. I have more time to get ahead on blog posts, to work out, maybe to watch a movie or read a little extra in my book tonight before bed. I truly do believe that there can always be a positive in every situation.

I think it’s important that when I’m having a bad day, I don’t try to make everyone else feel the same way. Instead, I try to hope that everyone else’s days are going a little better. I can even do small things to help that happen, always trying to think about the Sandy Hook Random Acts of Kindness. You never know what other people are going through, and it’ll never hurt to try to do something kind, even if it feels small. It may inspire someone else to continue the chain of kindness!

Leave a Reply

